COVID: 13 countries added to mandatory quarantine list

Another 13 countries have been added to the list of countries from where people arriving here would be required to quarantine in a hotel, regardless of a COVID-19 test result.

It brings the total to 33.

Primary legislation has to pass all stages of the Oireachtas before people are mandated to quarantine in hotels.

However, people arriving from category 2 countries are currently legally required to self-quarantine for a full two weeks.

The 13 states being added to the mandatory hotel quarantine list are:

  1. Argentina

  2. Bolivia

  3. Chile

  4. Colombia

  5. Ecuador

  6. French Guiana

  7. Guyana

  8. Panama

  9. Paraguay

  10. Peru

  11. Suriname

  12. Uruguay

  13. Venezuela

Anyone arriving into this country without a negative PCR test is also considered category 2.

This means that they must quarantine for a full two weeks.

The government is continuing to advise against all non-essential international travel.

If you travel to Ireland from any of the high-risk countries, you must complete a full 14-day quarantine period, Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said.

This applies to all passengers from designated states, regardless of nationality and the aim of this measure is to protect the population from challenges posed by new variants of concern.

For the latest news and breaking news visit

Get all the big headlines, pictures, analysis, opinion and video on the stories that matter to you.

Follow us on Twitter - the official Twitter account - real news in real time.

We're also on Facebook - your must-see news, features, videos and pictures throughout the day from the Irish Daily Star and

You can also get in touch with us via our Instagram account.