The streaming platform will automatically cancel any subscribers account that has been inactive for a year or more
A spokesperson for Netflix has revealed that as early as this week those of you have not been using your Netflix account for a year or more will be receiving emails about the inactivity.
Netflix will be asking inactive subscribers if they wish to continue paying for their account and if the streaming platform does not receive an answer then inactive accounts will be cancelled automatically.
A few hundred thousand accounts are expected to be affected with Netflix taking these measures in order to save people money who are not using what they are paying for.
And don't worry, if you fall within the "zombie account" category and your membership is cancelled, if you re-subscribe within ten months of cancellation all your viewing history will remain intact.
Eddy Wu, Product Innovator for Netflix said: "At Netflix, the last thing we want is people paying for something theyre not using.
"So were asking everyone who has not watched anything on Netflix for a year since they joined to confirm they want to keep their membership. And well do the same for anyone who has stopped watching for more than two years.
"Members will start seeing these emails or in app notifications this week. If they dont confirm that they want to keep subscribing, well automatically cancel their subscription.
"If anyone changes their mind later, its really easy to restart Netflix. These inactive accounts represent less than half of one percent of our overall member base, only a few hundred thousand, and are already factored into our financial guidance."