WhatsApp users who don't accept its updated new terms and conditions by the May 15th deadline won't be able to get or send messages until they do.
Anyone who opts out of the new rules will see their account listed as 'inactive'.
Inactive accounts on WhatsApp can be deleted after 120 days.
Calls and notifications will still function for 'a short while' but TechCrunch reported, probably only a 'a few weeks'.
They are changing how they will ask users to review its upcoming policy update following the app saying it was the victim of "misinformation" about what changes were being made.
It comes after anger was directed at the firm over its initial announcement of the update.
WhatsApp said it will begin showing users a banner alert which will encourage them to learn more about the update and what is and is not changing.
It will also display messages in the Status section of the app which will declare the firm's continued commitment to privacy and that conversations will remain end-to-end encrypted.
Combined with references to parent company Facebook, this sparked confusion and concern among some users over possible increased data sharing.